And the Hugo goes to…

The Hugo trophy given out last night. Designed by Matthew Dockrey, photo by Kevin Standlee.
The Hugo trophy given out last night. Designed by Matthew Dockrey, photo by Kevin Standlee. (Click to embiggen)
The 2015 Hugo Awards were announced last night at a ceremony at Sasquan, the 73rd World Science Fiction Con, held in Spokane, Washington. The hosts were David Gerrold and Tananarive Due.

And the Hugos went to:

Best NovelThe Three Body Problem, Cixin Liu, Ken Liu translator (Tor Books)

Best Novella – No Award

Best Novelette – “The Day the World Turned Upside Down”, Thomas Olde Heuvelt, Lia Belt translator (Lightspeed, 04-2014)

Best Short Story – No Award

Best Related Work – No Award

Best Graphic StoryMs. Marvel Volume 1: No Normal, written by G. Willow Wilson, illustrated by Adrian Alphona and Jake Wyatt, (Marvel Comics)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Long FormGuardians of the Galaxy, written by James Gunn and Nicole Perlman, directed by James Gunn (Marvel Studios, Moving Picture Company)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short FormOrphan Black: “By Means Which Have Never Yet Been Tried”, ” written by Graham Manson, directed by John Fawcett (Temple Street Productions, Space/BBC America)

Best Editor, Short Form – No Award

Best Editor, Long Form – No Award

Best Professional Artist – Julie Dillon

Best SemiprozineLightspeed Magazine, edited by John Joseph Adams, Stefan Rudnicki, Rich Horton, Wendy N. Wagner, and Christie Yant

Best FanzineJourney Planet, edited by James Bacon, Christopher J Garcia, Colin Harris, Alissa McKersie, and Helen J. Montgomery

Best FancastGalactic Suburbia Podcast, Alisa Krasnostein, Alexandra Pierce, Tansy Rayner Roberts (Presenters) and Andrew Finch (Producer)

Best Fan Writer – Laura J. Mixon

Best Fan Artist – Elizabeth Leggett

The John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer (Not a Hugo Award, but administered along with the Hugo Awards) – Wesley Chu

First Fandom’s Hall of Fame (not a Hugo Award, but usually awarded at the Hugo ceremony) – Julian May

First Fandom’s Sam Moskowitz Archive Award (not a Hugo, but usually awarded at the Hugo ceremony) – David Aronowitz

First Fandom’s Posthumous Fall of Fame (not a Hugo, but usually awarded at the Hugo ceremony) Margaret Brundage, Bruce Pelz, and F. Orlin Tremaine

Forrest J Ackerman Big Heart Award for the Betterment of Fandom (not a Hugo, but usually awarded at the Hugo ceremony) – Ben Yalow

Sasquan Special Award – Jay Lake (posthumous)

Winning bid to host 2017 WorldCon (not a Hugo, and announced earlier in the con, but re-announced at the ceremony) – Helsinki!

TAFF (Trans-Atlantic Fan Fund) delegate Nina Horvath presented all the fan categories. Other presenters were the two hosts, Dalek Rainier (built and operated by Charlie Logan), and an astronaut, Dr. Kjell Lindgren from the International Space Station. Robert Silverberg gave the unofficial official invocation, explaining that another Hugo ceremony had required an invocation at the 1968 WorldCon in Berkeley, because it was held during height of the Vietnam War protests, so there were riots nearby and occasionally tear gas drifted into the convention.

My husband and I watched the video livestream through our Apple TV. I had a couple more cocktails than I ought. My husband rolled his eyes at me applauding, raising my hand when the hosts asked fans who had been fans for more than X number of years, and other things as if we were in the auditorium. I also tweeted some of it, and had some interesting exchanges with folks about it.

While I applauded and cheered a lot, this outcome was not what I wanted. In several of the categories I would have much rather had good stories to vote for. I did not vote No Award as many times as I did for political reasons. As I mentioned in my final round-up post, my voting was not a strict anti-slate vote: I ignored the slates entirely in the two media categories; and in two other categories I voted for a slate candidate because I thought those two nominees were worthy of a Hugo.

But that’s enough commentary for now. I tweeted a quotation from Laura J. Mixon’s acceptance speech, which I think bears repeating: “We must find non-toxic ways to discuss our conflicting points of view.”

Locus Magazine has some more details. The full list of Hugo and John W. Campbell winners, and nominees with vote counts and similar details is at the official Hugo website.

Note: in the original version of the post, I could not remember who the quote about non-toxic ways of talking was from. I didn’t put the name in the original tweet, either. Fortunately, one of my awesome friends remembered it was Laura Mixon.

Update 2: Laura Mixon has posted her prepared remarks, so I’ve corrected the wording of the quote from what I wrote down at the time. I also forgot to write down the First Fandom’s posthumous Hall of Fame inductees, so I have added them.

4 thoughts on “And the Hugo goes to…

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.